top of page

My characters lead the way

Updated: Jan 12, 2021

WARNING: This story may contain content that may not be suitable for all readers.

 

Last night while I was trying to sleep, this thought kept repeating "My characters lead the way as I follow and tell their tale."


This relates to how I write because I don't tend to plan my stories. It plays out in my head bit by bit and I just write it down. It might seem like a strange way to write but it seems to work for me. Allow me to explain a bit.


When I get a story idea it's vague at first but when I start thinking about it characters start forming. I begin to see through the eyes of the main character, experiencing everything they are, so I start writing about it. After that, it plays out like a show and I just continue to write how it's happening; just like a show I can pause or rewind to get a better picture. When I pause it I can even ask the main characters, or characters, how they're feeling to portray that. Sometimes I can ask them what's going to happen next so I can prepare how to transition, however, sometimes they don't know themselves.


Writing a story this way may be a bit strange to others, I suppose it's just how my mind works. Ever since I was little my imagination has been wild and vivid, making up stories from nothing and telling anyone who would listen. It's like living in multiple inner worlds, jumping from one to another, the world's aren't always nice though which is where some of my darker stories come from. My mind is always buzzing, always thinking, it's hard to turn it off but it's such a joy when a character comes forth and wants me to tell their story.


Feel free to ask me any questions you may have 🥰.

 

Want to support me and my writing? To do so you can; share my work, comment, subscribe for updates, or donate here; https://paypal.me/dbuckroyd2020

12 views0 comments
bottom of page