top of page

My New Work In Progress


Stand-in cover

Recently I started working on a new book/story. This one is a little different to my usual, I have decided to write a fantasy story! It started as a little idea I kept toying with, discussing it with my husband every so often, wondering if I could actually do it or not. The more I thought about it the more excited I got. That was when I decided to give it a go. A vast majority of my stories have been set in our world, the real world, so my first step was getting used to it being based on a world of my own creation. As well as this I also need to remind myself that this is my world, I make the rules, it can be how I want it to be. As daunting as this new endeavour is I am really excited!


I'm having a lot of fun with the world-building along with the actual writing of it too. Keeping it all organised is an issue but I found a website and an app that I'm hoping will help keep it all neat. I decided to build the world as I go, this means I can write the story and make notes as they come up or as I think of them. I finished the first chapter over the weekend, it doesn't give a lot away but it's a good set-up. With this story, I'm not allowing it to be read before it's done, which means I won't be uploading chapters to my site or Wattpad. However, I will keep you updated on my progress. I am hoping to work with my husband to create a cover and perhaps some concept art.


I can't say too much about my new book as I don't want to spoil it or give much away, but I can tell you some details. It is set in a world where a place called The City is the central hub, nearly everyone lives and dies there. The City is in control of everything but The Countryside. The Countryside is classed as anywhere beyond the outskirts of The City. Defiants get sent there to live in isolation, with no direction or help from others. Defiants are those who choose to defy what The City has planned for them, although the majority of people are happy to follow what The City says. The main character in my story is one of the defiants sent away to The Countryside. The story will follow the journey of the main character of life on her own, along with uncovering the truths of The City and discovering secrets about her self.


And I think that's all I'll say about it, as much as I would love to waffle on about it and give things away. I am super excited about this and I love the world-building. It makes me wonder why I never tried it before now, perhaps it wasn't the right time. That's about it for this post. I will link to my husband's art page too for anyone interested.


 

Want to support me? Buy me a coffee - https://www.buymeacoffee.com/D.Buckroyd

bottom of page