top of page

Wonderfully Weird - Review of Colour Of Magic by Terry Pratchett



So recently I started reading the first book in the Discworld series (The Colour Of Magic) by Terry Pratchett.This book series was recommended to me by my husband, and I have finally got around to reading it! I could have finished this in one sitting, if life hadn't got in the way. Which says something about how captivating this story is.


At first I was confused, but the more I read the more I understood. Which could be said for a lot of books, they don't always make sense at first. The way it's wrote is fascinating, I love the way Terry writes. I was soon captivated with the story and found it hard to put the book down, even when I really needed to. Within the first 50 pages I was already laughing to myself with the way Twoflower spoke using his little book. It also made me laugh how he explained insurance, and how they said it (inn-sewer-ants) that made me giggle. Twoflower also had a camera, but they didn't call it a camera, it worked by having a little demon inside that drew/painted the picture. A clever way to see a camera, I remember believing something like that when I was younger. It's always interesting to read fantasy and see them have objects that are similar but ever so different to what we have. New ways of seeing things.


It's funny how Rincewind always manages to escape Death, Death actually gets annoyed at this fact. (And yes Death is a real person in this book, which is interesting). God's and Goddesses, dragons, dryads, demons, and more, are real as well.


It ended on a cliffhanger, a good way to get you to carry on, although I would have carried on even if it didn't end on a cliff hanger. I throughly enjoyed this book and I'm excited to go onto the next one eventually! I'm glad I've got back into reading.


I don’t want to say too much about this book, I wouldn't want to spoil it for those who may read it. Even though it's an old book, there may be others like me who discovered it late. This was a wonderfully weird book, weird in a good way, and I'm excited to go onto the next one! However, I need to read Extinction Trails by S.M Wilson, before I move onto the next discworld book. I joined a book club last month and that's this month's book. The Colour of Magic is an astounding book, I can see why these were a best seller! Terry was a truly talented man, I can only hope to write as well as he does!


Rating; 📚📚📚📚📚 (5 out of 5 books)

Tags:

11 views0 comments
bottom of page